ECMAScript 2022 blesses class elements, top-level await

Next version of JavaScript standard gains formal approval, while the new capabilities are already supported by browsers.

ECMAScript 2022 blesses class elements, top-level await
metamorworks / Getty Images

ECMAScript 2022, the next update to the official standard behind JavaScript, has been formally approved, with new capabilities ranging from class elements to a top-level await capability.

The ECMAScript 2022 specification was approved by ECMA International on June 22. But the features already are available in most browsers, said Robert Palmer, co-chair of the TC39 committee that shepherds the standard, in March. Feature availability in JavaScript engines is more relevant to developers than appearance in the actual specification, Palmer said.

Copyright © 2022 IDG Communications, Inc.

How to choose a low-code development platform